We have KY CCDW classes approved by the Kentucky State Police!
Covid 19 Information
Our CCDW classes have resumed, but may be cancelled with very short (or no) notice due to Covid 19 government mandated safety protocols. Anyone who has paid for a class that was cancelled are able to take a class now. Please contact us at the store if your previous class was cancelled and you would like to reserve your spot for one of the upcoming classes. Thank you for your patience.
Center Target offers regular CCDW Classes (normally 1 Saturday class each month). Our classes are approved through
the Kentucky State Police and taught by NRA Certified Instructors*.
At the successful completion of the class, participants receive a certificate that can be submitted online to the KSP immediately with other documents and a picture you can take with your cell phone. You could receive your CCDW Permit within 15 days!
The class will consist of about 4 to 5 hours and shooting on our indoor range.
Center Target also has DOCJT certified instructors that can provide annual LEOSA recertification for retired officers.
We also offer private CCDW classes for groups of 10 or more. A great option for churches, businesses, and other groups. Call the store to set up your private class.
*CCDW Classes are NOT NRA approved classes. They ARE approved through the Kentucky State Police.
Center Target CCDW Classes:
Class dates below link to the registration for that class:
To Find the KSP Online Application Portal:
You can GOOGLE the KSP CCDW Portal.
The link you can copy and paste into your browser is: https://kspportal.ky.gov/CCDW/Public/Login.aspx
Choose the first link on the Google search to go to the KSP Portal.
To Find the Kentucky Legal Handout:
You can GOOGLE the Kentucky Legal Handout.
The link you can copy and paste into your browser is: https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5c6ff8fe704680322ef00e02/t/5d49c2381d1c0600012ffc19/1565114937303/2019-CCDW-Handout-190707.pdf
Choose the third link on the Google search for the most recent version of the KY Legal Handout.
It should be titled "Carrying Concealed Deadly Weapons License Training - Legal Handout" (Current as of 7/1/2019).
Frequently Asked Questions:
What do I need to bring to class?
You will need a pistol, ammunition, hearing protection, eye protection (if you need to wear glasses, that will do),
and a good attitude.
We can provide what you are missing.
What are the shooting requirements to pass the class?
To pass, you will be required to shoot 11 out of 20 shots in a man-sized silhouette target at 7 yards.
What kind of pistol can I qualify with?
There is no requirement for the pistol that you use other than it must be safe to use (at the discretion of the instructor). Any caliber is permissible (even a .22). The instructor(s) will help you and offer suggestions if you are having trouble with your pistol. You can even shoot a pistol from our Range Rental Counter if you need one (must purchase ammunition from the store to use our Range Rental Guns).
Can 2 (or more) people use the same gun to qualify?
Yes. Sharing a pistol is not a problem. Although we wouldn’t suggest an entire class share the same pistol!
How long is the class?
The law(s) concerning CCDW training classes changed to include classes other than those created by the Department
of Criminal Justice Training (DOCJT), which is a minimum 6 hour class plus range time. Our class is approved through
the Kentucky State Police (KSP) to be at least 4 hours plus range time and fulfill requirements found in the KRS
(Kentucky Revised Statutes – KRS 237.110). In a DOCJT class, you go through the legal portion of the KRS. Our class
does not cover the KRS legal portion. Both classes are KSP approved and you get the same CCDW Permit.
You should plan for 4 1/2 to 5 hours total.
How does the new Constitutional Carry Law affect Concealed Carry in Kentucky and other states?
Senate Bill 150 allows any resident of Kentucky to carry a firearm concealed anywhere it is legal
to do so within the state without a permit. We suggest you read the
Kentucky Legal Handout.
This does not apply to carrying concealed into another state. You must still have a KY CCDW Permit for other states that recognize and accept it to carry concealed in those states.